Chesapeake Virginia Beach Alumnae Chapter
Theresa Baker and Terri Copeland                 40th Anniversary Chair and Co-Chair

The journey started 40 years ago . . . twenty sincere and dedicated members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. envisioned broadening the reach of public service into the cities of Chesapeake and Virginia Beach, Virginia. On Saturday, March 17, 2018, the Chesapeake-Virginia Beach Alumnae chapter celebrated the 40th anniversary of its chartering at the Chesapeake Conference Center in Chesapeake, Virginia. The theme “Celebrating 40 Years of Dedication, Service & Tradition” focused on the rich legacy of scholarship and community service initiatives of a chapter on the move since 1978.

The elegant affair of approximately 340 attendees included several local politicians including Congressman Bobby Scott, Chesapeake Council-woman Ella Ward, and Delegate Cliff Hayes. Guest musicians, included renowned musician and composer, Kim Jordan, and local favorites RaJazz and Robbin King. A historical walk down memory lane included a slide presentation of accomplishments over the years, including a moving tribute to our only charter member and 11 living Past Presidents presented by current Chapter President, Andrenette Ingram. An evening of laughter, reunion, dancing and fun was had by all. In partnership with the E3 Community Foundation, Inc., tax-deductible proceeds from the event benefited the chapter’s signature scholarships and community service initiatives. Proceeds  resulted in over $17,000 towards scholarships and community service initiatives.

Tribute Past Chapter Presidents
previous arrow
next arrow